VDonnut Valley

(A) Non-HP OSR/NSR gaming?

Okay, hear me out. I tried playing Old School Hack and my colleagues homebrew system and I must say – HP throws me really hard off. Like, we tried to narrate it but how can I explain two consecutive enemy shots to hit PC but on the same time not do anything, because they have HP left? Especially when PC doesn’t have armour or anything. And do that three times for every PC and enemy until they finally start getting some damage. But again it is not the damage they’re supposed to get. At least mechanically – being shot three times gives you nothing. Then you are scratched. I mean, it throws me off real hard. Maybe it is because I played too many story games and when mechanics stay too far from fiction it gives me mental hiccup.

And so I’m thinking about the system in which each successful hit will either injure you starting slight death spiral, wound you enough to be useless in combat or deal mortal wound which can be healed only by supernatural means. “But how to gamify it if you can die from one hit no matter the level?” you ask. And I say – equipment gives you safety net. Have a shield? It can soak the damage (without it breaking). Have a parrying weapon? Armour of some kind? Be my guest. It’s easy to narrate it. You actually use your equipment to defend instead of it giving only some vague not-to-be-hit passive defense value.

And then like, why not tying it to equipment system? But not on a slot by slot basis. I want to make it less clunky, less county. I want it to be just few states. One – you are light, flexible, quick. Something like (link). Not having anything heavy on yourself maybe some pocket items. Two – you’re ready to fight or do things. You’re probably with sword, maybe shield, some light armour or maybe climbing gear, some alchemist or vampire hunter kit in a bag. Nothing big but you can’t run with it as well as without. And like, three of such items not to be encumbered. And then you are encumbered. I could watch million youtube videos about how you can fight effectively with backpack but neither will convince me. I did few activities with a backpack in my life, it’s never easy and always more awkward than no-backpack situation. Also let’s consider pre-modern technology. Your backpack isn’t military-grade gear. Or modern hiking backpack. It’s probably a sack previously used to hold flour or something. Tell me about ergonomics.

How does everything above ties down? Well, injuries take your item slots. Wounds block your backpack/encumbrance. Mortal wound is going to kill you. Which attack is going to deal which level of harm is up to the situation. I’m not sure yet how or if to quantify it. Just making it on a state basis, with quick, easy to adhere mechanics. No counting slots, no adjusting the weight/slots. Things are either pocket, slot or encumbrance. Also conditions could affect slots. So if you are exhausted you cannot fight in full gear for example, because it makes you encumbered. I need to polish it still.

#OSR-NSR #archival #mechanics